Poets logo

Only Human

Shy, Quiet, Tired

By Adaline ArcherPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
2
Only Human
Photo by Ben Sweet on Unsplash

I don’t say much

If you were to ask someone to describe me they would say I’m shy, quiet, tired

Those are the excuses I give for when I’m not saying anything

All others see is the quiet girl with the bored look in her face

They don’t see my raging emotions under the surface

They don’t see me struggling to stay engaged in the conversation when all I want to do is sit alone

They don’t see me fighting between my overly logical side and my overly emotional side

I’m not shy or quiet, I just don’t say everything that’s on my mind because if I did I would never stop talking

When I say I’m tired it’s not in the traditional sense, I don’t need sleep

I’m tired of putting on a fake smile and pretending to be happy so people don’t think I’m in a bad mood

I’m tired of having a constant war going on inside me that no one else knows about

I’m tired of pretending

Unless you have felt this eternal struggle inside you between being you and being what others want you to be, you’ll never understand

You may think I’m normal, happy, but I’m dying inside

This is for all my shy, quiet, tired people…

You don’t have to be what they want you to be

You don’t have to pretend to be happy all the time

You can be sad, angry, conflicted, whatever you want to be

We are all human and that means we have emotions

They are not all pretty, so let’s stop trying to doll them up and make them comfortable

Let’s embrace the messiness, let the sadness and anger show, stop using excuses

You’re not shy, quiet, or tired… you’re human

You’re doing the best you can and, news flash, so is everyone else

I am not shy, quiet, or tired… I’m human

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Adaline Archer

Just a girl writing about the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.