Poets logo

Only Careful Dreams

except on Wednesdays

By Sam Eliza GreenPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - November 2023
21
photo by cottonbro studio on Pexels

In the circus of my mind,

there is a posted sign

with inky, curvy lines:

only careful dreams.

A stifling reminder

I must consider, always.

Careful, like tiptoeing over

broken glass, biting your cheek

so the universe

won’t know you’re suffering

or wondering

if clouds are really as feathery

as in your dreams.

Careful.

Tap, tap, tap.

Three times feels best.

How could I crave

deliverance

from these obsessions

that hold me

like a newly-wed who finally

owns everything?

And space doesn’t matter

because we’ve never felt closer,

so close we don’t know

who is who.

Careful.

It’s easy to lose

yourself in fantasies.

Repetition helps

when you can’t tell

what’s real or really

good at pretending to be.

So, it’s better

just to make sure

you won’t catch the

house on fire

by swearing off candles,

or the kitchen stove,

or anything fun

because fun isn’t careful.

Can it be?

Forget everything

you know about dependency.

This special shade of gaslight

will have you questioning

anything that might

happen or already

has, but you can’t be sure

until you check, check, check.

Do you remember

when you dreamt

about that greedy sickness

and then it surfaced

everywhere?

I know it feels awkward

not to catastrophize

or lie on your spine,

but you should at least

cover your eyes

when you sleep

or you might

experience things

that don’t make sense.

Wake up, wake up, wake up.

This isn’t real, or is it?

Careful.

About the circus of my mind,

I won’t claim to know

everything,

but if we unwind

the careful dreams,

and anxieties,

and restless fingers,

we might discover

that the broken glass

was really bubble wrap.

Every circus

needs a clown throwing

pies as much as acrobats,

and if you’re too busy obsessing,

you can forget how to breathe.

In the circus of my mind,

there is a freshly

painted sign:

only careful dreams,

except on Wednesdays.

surreal poetryinspirational
21

About the Creator

Sam Eliza Green

Wayward soul, who finds belonging in the eerie and bittersweet. Poetry, short stories, and epics. Stay a while if you're struggling to feel understood. There's a place for you here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming5 months ago

    I hope you have more Wednesdays. And that there is more bubble wrap. Bubble wrap is fun as well as a cushion.

  • Test6 months ago

    Stellar effort! Keep up the extraordinary work—congratulations!

  • Daphsam6 months ago

    Absolutely wonderful poem, you’ve really used wonderful imagery to make your words come alive. 

  • Teresa Renton6 months ago

    ‘Every circus needs a clown throwing pies as much as acrobats’ loved this image (along with many others!) in your wonderful poem. Congratulations on TS! 🥳

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    I liked the surrealist approach at times and all the many meaning here. Unique work! 👏

  • Ruby Red6 months ago

    i also have my own world in my mind...mostly a mix of the novels i've read so far. reading things such as this unique poem is what helps me escape. <3

  • Joelle E🌙6 months ago

    I felt this one ❤️ thanks for ur beautiful honesty

  • Test6 months ago

    Incredible poem. I really love the poem. Best wishes with you send blessing ❤️

  • Margaret Brennan6 months ago

    My mother always referred to me as a realist. I never expect anything and therefore I'm never disappointed. Mom never knew of my little fantasy land. That's what I call it, anyway, a small place in my mind as I lay in bed waiting for sleep. I can fantasize about anything - do anything, be anything, without blame or repercussions. GREAT poem ... Love it.

  • Suze Kay6 months ago

    Such beautiful words here. I’m obsessed with this poem!! I definitely know the feeling of cautiously moderating my hopes so I don’t feel disappointed in the end.

  • Melissa Ingoldsby6 months ago

    I love the circus theme a lot. Very well written piece 💓🥰🥰😍😍😍

  • Whoaaaa, this was so profound, thought provoking and powerful! Such an awesome poem!

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    This is amazing! I'll bet that bubble wrap was laid down to cover something half broken already.

  • Mackenzie Davis6 months ago

    Oh, Sam, this is STUNNING. Literally speechless. ... Careful dreaming... How suffocatingly you wrote this, yet so rapid-step as well. I'm immensely affected by this poem, the technical parts are incredible, metaphors, the ending, wordplay...and the emotional side too, the themes of identity here, coping with wanting more but restraining the feeling, the manifestation of unhealthy thinking, the structures built to alleviate and protect...UGH. No exaggeration: This is one of the best poems I've read on here.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.