Poets logo

Ones New Resolve

A poem about coming to terms with loss

By Rambler's SocietyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
 Ones New Resolve
Photo by JC Gellidon on Unsplash

You should’ve been here.

I feel like I need you here.

You weren’t always there, but you would’ve been if you had the chance.

Although my demons are far from yours, I know the struggle of fighting them.

If it were easy, we wouldn’t have to fight them.

Time and time again I’ve had to imagine the pain you went through.

But then it was clear you had given in.

It was too late to save you.

I cried,

Screamed,

Begged,

All in the silence of my room,

broken between tear filled gasps of air.

This wasn’t how I wanted things.

But as they say, life is not fair.

Circumstances are not fair.

Things just happen, and sometimes they’re avoidable and sometimes they’re not.

I hope you can look down and see the world you’ve left behind.

At first it was out of spite,

See how much pain you’ve caused me.

See how much we needed you.

Now I just want you to know how I’m doing.

The good,

The bad,

And the ugly.

artexcerptsfact or fictioninspirationalsad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Rambler's Society

Hello everyone! I write fictional surreal stories and poems. I love writing and I hope that you enjoy reading what I've to offer. I have plenty more written down on my website so I'd love it if you'd go check it out!

ramblersociety.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.