Poets logo

One Final Struggle

Any Length

By Colleen Millsteed Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 2 min read
16

Two amazingly special people who have a direct line to my soul,

The only two living beings with an intimate knowledge of my heart,

As only they know its comforting sound from the inside,

And have my blood running through their veins from the start.

***

These two have been given to me for a short period of time,

After which they head off into the world on their own,

During the in-between years it is my responsibly to ensure,

They have all the tools of the trade to make it alone.

***

I've had no choice but to walk this path in solitude,

While attempting to give these precious individuals dual sides,

Giving them what they needed to become amazing young men,

While putting the recipe together on how to treat women,

Along with all the strength and wisdom to ride out life's tides.

***

This adventure, over many years and with a lot of hard work,

Has brought three people together in such a way,

That there has been a very fine line between parent and best friend,

And for that precious relationship I've been thankful every day.

***

I've been so totally blessed that my hard work and sacrifice,

Saw neither of these two precious beings go off the rails,

As I'm now on the home stretch with one a beautiful adult,

And the second a month away from leaving his childhood trails.

***

Then last night, just as I get a glimpse of the finish line,

I find we are not going to cross that line pain free,

I've obviously failed somewhere and my discovery last night,

Breaks my heart with tears running down my face and completely shatters me.

***

So the girl that always stands so alone and strong,

Can handle all that life throws at her,

Has seen life attack her with some doozies,

Who falls, picks herself up, dusts off no matter what was to occur,

That couldn't be pulled down, trodden on or broken,

Has now been shattered into a thousand pieces scattered wide,

Broken by one that holds her heart and soul in his hands,

She is now going to have to hang on tight to endure this wild ride!!!

***

But as shattered and broken as she lays,

She knows she must find her strength and fight,

Although that's not possible over the next couple of days,

She needs rest, time out and re-find the love and light,

To choose her actions and words carefully and ponder the best ways,

To assist this most precious being back to the path that's right.

***

Hopefully this is one final struggle,

Whereby I must stand alone,

To pull the very last reserves of my strength,

To bring my son back home,

And for this I will go to any length!!!

****************************************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

surreal poetry
16

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Beautiful words of triumph and struggle. Good luck.

  • Great lines and I enjoyed this , thank you

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.