Poets logo

ONE DISH AT A TIME

An old-fashioned housework rhyme (with CONTENT & TRIGGER WARNINGS for self-harm & cussing) that almost functions as a now-i-lay-me-down-to-sleep-style prayer to get through it

By P. M. StarrPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

Just two of the long solid good forks

And two of the super cheap spoons

Keep counting them down for tomorrow

Good enough as the dishwater cools.

Keep counting the fingerrubs add up

Not perfect just do the next one

Just one more good fork for insurance

In case one of them falls to the floor.

Now stare down the line of the counter

Three sections, the stove, then one more

2.5 out of four isn’t half bad

Stack these plates up and free one half more.

Lots still dirty but the drainboard is stacked up

With so much I’ve already done

I know that they won’t all get finished

But I still have some time for just one:

Just one more motherfucking butterknife.

Just one more sticky-ass pan.

Just one more cracked plastic tumbler.

All part of this never-ending plan

To make things a little bit easier

For the next day we get out of bed

Clean mugs set on THIS square of counter

For caffeine to sweep out both our heads.

I feel like my back’s fucking breaking

I squirt piss when I sneeze anymore

Should make time for pilates and yoga

But I’d just want to lie on the floor.

Somebody please give me permission

Cover windows and triple-lock doors

Ignore every dumb notification

For today just not one fucking more.

Not one fucking more dirty saucepan

Not one more fake-ass emoji

Reassuring our friends and my family

I’m not thinking about rope and a tree.

For today though I’m not going to go there

For tonight I will get through the pain

I’ll dump out this dirty dishwater

Watch it circle and slide down the drain.

performance poetrysad poetryslam poetrysocial commentarysurreal poetry
1

About the Creator

P. M. Starr

I love reading and writing for pleasure, comfort, and creating introvert sanctuaries.

Top-tier contender for all-time favorite book: Lizard Music by D. Manus Pinkwater

Early influences: Judy Blume, Ray Bradbury, (real) V. C. Andrews

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher 2 years ago

    Very interesting poem. I can relate to some of your thoughts. Great writing. I can appreciate the originality.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.