Poets logo

Once Upon a Time

Poem

By Hazel Rymell Published 2 months ago 1 min read
5

Once upon a time in a land far away

I gaze out at the calm crystal sea

The soft gentle breeze tousles my hair

When I hear footsteps approach from behind me

~

I hold up my long dress to get up to look

Then turn around to see who is there

My heart leaps, I blush ferociously

As our eyes meet and then locks in a stare

~

Stood before me is him, the guy of my dreams

As he slowly walks over towards me

His eyes on mine, he takes hold of my hand

Then I melt in his arms uncontrollably

~

All of a sudden I find myself falling

As I tumble back into reality

I crash to the ground with an almighty bump

Away from my romantic sweet fantasy

~

When not in the imaginary world of a writer

Creative me is in real life at home

The mundane jobs that go on forever

As I tackle them all on my own

~

Then tomorrow begins another day

When I return to my laptop to type

When the fantasy world kicks in again

For the lady who just loves to write

surreal poetry
5

About the Creator

Hazel Rymell

..Suddenly I crash back down to earth with a big almighty bump!

...when not in a dolly daydream, creative me is at home in the UK doing the normal everyday mundane jobs, that seem to go on forever...until the daydreaming kicks in again...

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe Patterson2 months ago

    Outstanding.

  • sleepy drafts2 months ago

    Oh, this is beautiful. I can so relate to waiting just to dive back into the fantasy world you're writing. 💗

  • Daphsam2 months ago

    Beautiful poem.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.