Poets logo

Once Upon a time

She was a happy little girl.

By GemPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I only ever wanted male counsellors.

And male friends.

I only ever really wanted my father back.

I’ve spent my whole life trying to find him in other people

And now that I can see how much I have transferred him onto every man I’ve ever had around me I can see

Why I turn into the little girl I used to be

When i feel like hes around

And when he loved me

And then I feel ok

But that only lasts so long, because

it ended so it will end again

And this is not reality anymore

And I hit this barrier

I feel like you're not there anymore

Maybe you are and maybe you still see me the same

Even after you left

But i feel like you didn't look at me the same after that

I wasn’t the same little girl i used to be

I was a burden and I wasn’t so small and sweet

I was bigger and sadder and

i was growing up and changing

I had to face that too

And i didnt have you to be there with me then

So when i grew up it was without the love of my life

So if i can make myself small again

Maybe you would stay

Maybe another you will always love me, if i can be that girl again

Because she is the only one in my body who can be happy

Not the bigger me that i am now

or the me when i feel sad

because when you loved me I was happy, and I wasn't happy when you left

And then I was sad and you didn't love me anymore

So who would really love me if I am so sad?

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Gem

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.