Poets logo

Once Under a Blue Moon

Now You're Here

By Daimonick KoivistoPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

I wander streets to find somewhere elsewhere

Just to see if and who would care

Mouth runs dry and I yearn for nothing clear

When I approach the somber doors of now I'm here

Stepped inside as the stale air caresses my face

Hung my cares on the rack just to be as one beside this place

A mere weary traveler seeking nothing to find everything

I close my eyes to those around and listen to the ambiance sing

I drift away like Doobie Gray

Just to leave my worries for another day

Few hours later and my thirst is quenched

But rain has left surface streets drenched

Curiosity sneaks as I take a peak

A bird who has my knees weak

I think I should stay for just another

As I write a thank you letter to her mother

Vultures come to circle around and round

I dare not move nor make a sound

Let me watch that which I could never taste

Blowing three sheets in and my list is just a waste

There jotted down on a service, a something of sorts

Just a keen observation I wanted to report

Picked up by the mixologist who reads with a smile

Appreciation bows my head, I must confess it's been a while

I know not which is right from wrong

And this day has drug on far too long

I sought out nothing with nothing to gain

Staggered outside to light my cancer in the rain

It's a good night to wander from here to there yonder

I'll clear my head, start to walk, and ponder

Puddles gather reflected lights of a sleeping city

When look and behold a chariot pulls forth driven by one so pretty

She liked what I had written, it was written for her

Offered me a ride to take it even further

A woman in need I could not refuse

For a man with nothing has even less to lose

I stared long into her face

Captivated by her loving embrace

Within moments we began to intertwine

And in a rhythmic union we danced within time

There was a moment I glanced to see the clouds break

So consumed by awe at what the heavens can make

The billow left lingering the moon in its bluish hue

At most a rare sight for all but a few

And so it would be fate that is this dance

Could have only happened by chance

That's when I knew I was whole and I could feel

But I awoke from this dream too good to be real

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Daimonick Koivisto

Poet and an artist from Phoenix, Arizona. Two published poetry books ( The Art Of Words Less Spoken, and The Illustration Of Words And The Magic Of Speech )with more to come.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.