Poets logo

On the Runaway Train

Poems

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
On the Runaway Train
Photo by Tom Dahm on Unsplash

Clickity clack, clickity clack.

The sound wakes me, and I look around, seeing that I'm on a train, having no idea how I got here.

Nobody else is in the car with me, not even a trace of luggage or food wrappers.

I feel inside my pockets but find no ticket, not even my phone, only a pack of gum.

Clickity clack, clickity clack.

How did I even get aboard?

I stand, holding onto the seat in front of me, feeling the train barreling down the tracks.

Dizziness threatens to take over, but I move forward anyway.

I need to know what the hell happened.

Clickity clack, clickity clack.

Colors and shapes whizz past me as I travel to the car in front of me, searching for answers.

But every place I look, not a soul is to be found.

Where is everyone?

Clickity clack, clickity clack.

My heart beats faster, pushing myself toward the engine room, not a clue if anyone is even there.

Reaching the engine car, I find no one there.

Instead, ropes hold the controls in place like strings on a harp.

So someone had been here, but where did they and everyone else go?

Clickity clack, clickity clack.

I look around, hoping to find scissors to cut the rope or at least a way to contact the outside world.

But I find nothing and notice the train is not slowing down.

If anything, it's gaining speed at an alarming rate.

Clickity clack, clickity clack.

I glance to the window, everything a blur outside.

I fall to the floor, pull my knees toward my chest, and close my eyes, hoping this is just a nightmare.

Clickity clack, clickity clack.

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    This reminds me of the show Russian doll, very good!

  • This was awesome!

  • I do love this: Clickity clack, clickity clack. Thanks for sharing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.