Poets logo

On Self-Image

A poem about self esteem

By Elizabeth Biz DiedrickPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

I am not beautiful

I am not good enough

We've all thought that at some point.

I remember enough self-hate to make the devil blush

I remember insults I repeated in my head as if to worship the alter of my enemies

At night I laid in a bed of self pity

With every lash out in my direction

I opened the door to let the belief in

I kept waiting around for someone to save me

But what I found was a girl that needed love more than I did

She showed me that I wasn't so unloveable

She showed me that by the words of others I had been fooled

I realized that I had to pick myself up.

I had to be my own hero.

Because the only person who could decide my self-worth

was me.

Keep in mind that when people cut down trees

you have to plant your own.

Please don't put so much thought into society's definition of beauty

I'm begging you because I want you to stop and think

Have you ever met a skinny girl who said she was admirable?

Have you a single friend who likes every part of themselves?

Society isn't searching for beauty,

It's searching for an incorrect definition of perfection in an imperfect world

True beauty is in imperfection

I want you to keep that in mind

Who is anyone to decide

what size or distribution

what collection of body parts that everyone has

what pattern of skin that on no person is identical

Who is anyone to decide the definition of beauty?

Only you can decide your definition of pretty.

Do we compare the size of petals when contemplating the beauty of flowers?

When adopting a dog, do we take into account the shape of faces or a collection of moles?

After admiring a hill do we then decide it would be better if the grass were a lighter color?

I'll give you the answer: we don't.

We fall in love with the imperfections of others

So why can't we love our own?

I want you to look in the mirror

and decide you are beautiful

Because no matter how much you change your body

The way you see yourself won't change until you decide you are worth it.

Realize the value in your imperfections.

I am beautiful.

I am amazing.

I am proud to be myself.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.