Poets logo

On Lunch

it happened on lunch...

By ©I.M. "That Girl," Inure MusePublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I remember mom, being pissed

when she came to pick me up at the Save-a-mart,

saying:

"those 'friends,' of yours including those girls

you got caught with? Are trouble. Idlers... under achievers.

I mean, you know that this is bad behavior!

I don't know why you're out here, clucking with chickens...when

you could be soaring with eagles, focus on other labours."

-- I was in grade 8.

Fuck! How was I to know she was going to steal a bottle of Pert Plus

and eyeliner?

Man? I just wanted lunch.

I thought we were going to Double Double's

for a pizza slice...

when these girls were like…

"stop here, for a quick sec."

one of them, wanted hair dye.

So, we went in...

A moment later,

some white dude, with brown locks,

in a shitty hockey-hair cut,

tells my so-called-friends to, "stop at the door,"

and "wait there."

2 of them bailed...

I should have fucking LEFT her there.

Because, I knew, if I got caught doing dumb shit, with these bitches?

Mom would give me the belt, not just 'ground me'

(or put me in stitches).

But I stayed.

Now here we were in the car

(on a very silent ride, back home) from school.

The principal told her…and so did the police.

I was suspended;

for being the fool.

And flying south with these geese.

©️IM... me xo

#2020

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

©I.M. "That Girl," Inure Muse

Hi! I'm "That Girl Muse," author, artist, muse, poet, surrealist and spirit guide, who uses creativity as a means to heal the mind. Each poem's a lil' bit of Inure Muse's story @Find_the_muse & support my work. You can also book me online!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.