Poets logo

On love and loss

Stephen Crane understood this

By Jill Harper-JuddPublished 4 months ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
2
On love and loss
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

Stephen Crane:

A man said to the universe

“Sir, I exist”

“However,” replied the universe

“That fact has not created in me

A sense of obligation.”

I lost my husband a year or so ago

Lost. Such a stupid euphemism.

He’s not lost.

I know exactly where he is – and it is the one place I cannot go

To bring him home.

Gone home. There’s another one.

Careful, gentle phrasing.

But I’m home. He’s not with me.

What other ways is death described?

Terms that aren’t as gentle for sure.

He kicked the bucket.

An old farming trope, that. Callous.

Kindof like “don’t cry over spilt milk.”

Or...what would doctors say?

He expired. Right. Just like that milk.

And I cry all the same.

The kindest, easiest term is that

He passed away...it is a bit more accurate, I think.

He passed through this world on his way

to a place I cannot yet follow

Time has passed.

I continue to mourn, quietly.

I don’t think that goes away.

They say you grow through it, around it.

And eventually you rejoin the world

And begin again.

And I have. I’m good (mostly).

I’ve moved on -or at least I moved away.

New life, new places, even new love.

But a deep sadness came with me.

Part of me now, the wound healed but still tender.

I know. It takes time.

So I’m getting on with my life

Except when I’m not.

Except when I stare out the window

Or lie awake in bed

Or write futile, angry words

At an indifferent universe.

sad poetryheartbreakFree Verse
2

About the Creator

Jill Harper-Judd

I've been writing poetry and short stories since childhood....but my life has often been chaotic so (mental) space to write can be hard to find. I am a lover of words and the worlds we can create with them. I seek beauty in all things.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 4 months ago

    It's so impressive! I love it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.