Poets logo

On Life in Three Acts

A Poppy's Tale Poem

By David MuñozPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
4
On Life in Three Acts
Photo by Ivan Mani on Unsplash

It took me long years and a thick gray beard to recognize the reality of my life.

First and second acts lived on autopilot, playing out patterns and habits on repeat, a scratched record skipping to the same phrase over and over again.

My truth hidden down deep, the tiniest of babushka dolls, covered by layers of miscellaneous self loathing. Not handsome enough, not tall enough, wrong hair, wrong eyes, wrong name. Not enough, never enough for the love I thought would complete me, the possessions I believed would fulfill me.

Drawing erroneous conclusions born of years filled with tension in a minefield of a home, earliest childhood memories hiding in a closet singing nonsense songs to drown out the rage bullets flying above me. The smell of shoe leather comforts me to this day.

Sages told me the chances for healing would come, and they did. I just didn't have the tools to start the fix. So the stakes got higher, because that's the way of things, right? I learned that, in a 2 a.m. rumination, after a particularly hard crash. The stakes always get higher. Keep fucking it up, and you'll hit tilt and then it's the exit interview for you, my friend.

I'd dream of bullet holes, remnants of violence, thick with the essence of fear. I knew that scent, been stewing in it most of my life, and a Voice asked me: is this what you want? Paralyzed by shame, I couldn't even muster the will to speak. Could only shake my head.

Hit my knees and surrendered. And then I surrendered again, and then I surrendered some more. My life is now one long epiphany of surrendersurrendersurrender. And the babushka dolls are melting away, one layer at a time, revealing more to learn, more to heal, more to love about who and what I am.

I awoke at 2 a.m. from a dream, gasping at the vision showing me those bullet holes had come from the inside. And now, they let the Light in.

Free Verse
4

About the Creator

David Muñoz

I'm a recovering artist in Austin, Texas. Stoic student, mystic, writer, poet, guitarist, father, brother, son, friend. I am an eternal soul living a human experience. Part of that experience is working through my stuff by making art.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    This went deep to speak to my relationships which are mirrored here. Happily the last layer open our eyes to so much more to attain. I really love this entry.

  • Poppy 4 months ago

    Wow, this is so emotive and raw. "My truth hidden down deep, the tiniest of babushka dolls, covered by layers of miscellaneous self loathing." I loved that line!! And this stanza... "Hit my knees and surrendered. And then I surrendered again, and then I surrendered some more. My life is now one long epiphany of surrendersurrendersurrender. And the babushka dolls are melting away, one layer at a time, revealing more to learn, more to heal, more to love about who and what I am." I was going to comment on the first two sentences but it just kept getting better and better. Wow! Really, really great work with this.

  • Great job! Often so true: "First and second acts lived on autopilot, playing out patterns and habits on repeat, a scratched record skipping to the same phrase over and over again." Such a positive ending: "gasping at the vision showing me those bullet holes had come from the inside. And now, they let the Light in."

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.