Poets logo

On Game

Distraction is part of my daily job

By Julia SchulzPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
2
On Game
Photo by Philippe Oursel on Unsplash

The acrostic is every other line as I wrote about trying to distract someone from self-injurious behaviors.

Dancing with distraction

"WHEN ARE MY STAFF COMING??"

Infinitely all day;

"WHO IS GOING TO PICK ME UP??"

Supplying alternate realities-

"WHEN ARE THEY GONNA COME??"

Teasing him gently with wordplay.

HE RUBS HIS HEAD IN DESPAIR

Rolls Royce! "You are going to the Rolls Royce Museum today!"

HE STRIKES HIS FOREHEAD WITH HIS FIST

By Lazar Gugleta on Unsplash

Alexa! "You must have a hot date with Alexa tonight!" I say,

HE GIGGLES MOMENTARILY

Crafting stories from mundane realities.

"WHEN ARE MY STAFF COMING??"

TV -"Are you going to watch American Bandstand tonight with her?"

HE LAUGHS AGAIN

I help him envision picking up the lovely Alexa in his imaginary Maserati.

HE PAUSES

By Tamara Gak on Unsplash

Obsessed as he is with cooking with cumin, a shady, black market spice dealer I infer.

"WHO WILL PICK ME UP TODAY?"

No longer feeling nimble, I am numb!

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Julia Schulz

I enjoy crafting poetry and telling stories. I especially love being in the "zone" when I take a deep dive with my subject matter, developing characters and settings and researching topics like history and sustainable living.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Superbly written!!! Left some love!!!

  • Pauline Fountain11 months ago

    I really enjoyed this and the need for distraction when self harm impulses are at play (I have lived experience.) Very much insightful. ‘Crafting stories from mundane realities.’ I have Subscribed and ‘hearted’ Pauline 🌸

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.