Poets logo

On Dreaming

and being far from home.

By KBPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
On Dreaming
Photo by Yohann LIBOT on Unsplash

It’s harder to sleep when I’m not at home.

I have no dreams when I’m all alone.

They say it gets easier after a while,

To be still and free and eventually smile.

And yet, I won’t have any dreams,

Until I can understand what it means.

What it means to feel at home in a different spot,

And to breathe in the air that feels too hot.

Heavy and hot, the sheets are too thick,

Twirling around, my body becomes slick

With sweat but now I’m way too cold,

And I still haven’t done what I have been told:

To be still and free and eventually smile,

Must mean the “eventually” is well over a mile.

Miles from home and losing sleep,

Where the memories live that I try and keep

Keep in my mind when I lie wide awake,

Busy boggled by the future I am forced to make.

Making a future doesn’t come overnight.

But dreams do, so I hope with all my might:

Though I am far from home, I can still pray,

That my dreams will land where they may.

performance poetry
3

About the Creator

KB

A snippet of life. Some real, some not. Thanks for reading!

https://vocal.media/vocal-plus?via=kb

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.