Poets logo

On Bachelorhood

A Single Sonnet

By D. J. ReddallPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
An AI Generated Image

“Let me add quickly that I like women, but am a bachelor by choice. While bachelors are lonely people, I’m convinced that married men are lonely people with dependents.” ― Kurt Vonnegut Jr.

The life of the postmodern bachelor

Is an odd one; though many are alone

Few have an elective affinity

For their own company, well known

After all, we are social animals

With unusual, fascinating minds;

Solitude is for loons and criminals

In it, awareness its own secrets finds

Consider the stag’s quiet majesty

The pristine self-sufficiency of one

Who remains obstinately, purely free

His battle for autonomy hard won

To the benign bachelor, show good will:

He bothers none by being single still

Sonnet

About the Creator

D. J. Reddall

I write because my time is limited and my imagination is not.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Randy Baker4 months ago

    "Solitude is for loons and criminals". But it allows more time for writing! And there's nothing wrong with being a little looney. I hope. lol

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    Maybe we are all alone, at that

  • Kodah4 months ago

    Hahahaha I love this!! 💗Great poem! 💗

  • Then looks like I'm a loon and a criminal, lol! I love my solitude! I ain't never gonna give that up by getting married hahhahaha! Loved your poem!

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    Very contemplative. Bachelors are not weird!

  • Scott Christenson4 months ago

    so true, great last line!

D. J. ReddallWritten by D. J. Reddall

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.