Poets logo

On April Fools Day!

My husband announced it is April Fools Day! Why?

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a year ago 2 min read
1
On April Fools Day!
Photo by charlesdeluvio on Unsplash

On April Fools day,

2018 it was a Sunday

and I started to get ready

for church and had not gone since we went steady.

When he asked me I told him where I was going

and did he want to go with me? I got ready and started sewing.

He said aren’t you going to church. I looked at him like he was crazy.

What would I be doing going to church? I’m going to be lazy.

Maybe I’ll go to the river. That is the only church I go to!

He then said you told me you were going to church. I did not Boo.

Then I said April Fools day to you!

****

There were others over the 22 years we have been together. I got him, he didn’t get me. The sad thing is our memories aren’t as good as they used to be.

I asked him his favorite April Fool’s memory and it was when he was just a boy and his brother, just younger, told their dad, that all 4 of his tires were flat.

His dad said, “They better not be!” And that was the end of that.

****

This year, in the morning I thought I could fool him with his daughter’s hair as she colored her hair red. I am not sure about her original hair color. Now she is red not blond or black instead.

I showed him a picture of her hair tucked into her hoody and he said, I didn’t know she cut her hair. Are you sure that is Becky or is it another friend's picture that she will share?

“I like her red hair better than black,” said hubby. What about me, do you like my hair black he said, “You mean your grey or white hair” and I glare!

He says, “I remember Becky wanting to count my dark hair, rather than the white as she said there are too many white hairs to count.” Then he added “And you are almost there!” I am not I said and then I had to admit that I have a fair amount.

****

This is why hubby told me it is April Fools Day! He wants me to know it will be harder to catch him this year! Have fun this year, laugh and cry more, laugh hard and drop a tear!

how toslam poetry
1

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.