Poets logo

On a Cold Morning

Wrote this while freezing my ass off in -1C weather!

By Ash TaylorPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
7
On a Cold Morning
Photo by Eugene Golovesov on Unsplash

It's late morning and the frost lingers

As my breath mists in the air

Winter runs his cold fingers

Through the sleep-tangles of my hair

-

Morning light hits the lace, scattered on leaves

Hanging from spiderwebs which hang from the eaves.

-

I stand in the doorway hoping to find,

Some answer or meaning in the calm countryside

But there's only silence, echoing in my mind

The magic is broken, and I go back inside.

nature poetry
7

About the Creator

Ash Taylor

Lover of fantasy and all things whimsical. Currently studying Writing and Publishing at UNE in Armidale, Australia. Living on Anaiwan land.

he/him

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher 10 months ago

    Beautiful... I love it...

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    -1 c yikes! Lovely writing. 😊

  • Cezanne Libellen10 months ago

    This is lovely, Ash. I am so glad I read this!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.