Poets logo

Old Friend

by Emma Sumsion

By Emma SumsionPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Old Friend
Photo by Helena Lopes on Unsplash

Dear Old Friend,

I feel like you were the one that got away

But I was the one that let this friendship end

It was so quiet and gentle

Like we had drifted down a stream but gone our separate ways

I don’t know where it split or where we ended

But I reached the end of the river and I was alone again

It’s easy to miss what we were

And sad to think about what we could have been

But I’ll always be grateful for what we had

For the memories that were created

And the adventures that were shared

But time is a funny thing because nothing ever lasts

No matter how much I wish that we were still best friends

The road has ended and that journey is done

And when our friendship continues, it will be on a new one

A new path.

A new road.

A new river.

We will be different people

But still great friends

Sincerely

Your Future Friend

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Emma Sumsion

Hello there!

I'm a young college student trying to figure out what I want in life. Learning to follow my passions instead of putting them aside for a later date.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.