Poets logo

old-fashioned

to my neighbour downstairs 1

By Mescaline BrissetPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
Photo by the Author, edited

a man is screeching like an old radio

I don’t know what I can do

he starts in the morning

when the birds’ chirps cease, he’s waking up with a loud yawn

then spends the time in a bathroom

and is not long till I’m heard of

his vehement voice voraciously swallowing the air

with phoney sound on the phone

and that is even before he’s made his first coffee

smelling in the house like scorched seafood

the sun is not even up yet

and he’s already started his terrible tweet

with the rumble of the tractor

calling his clients during call centre

opening hours

yet he has told me that his profession

is called “an architect”

“an architect of selling dreams”

this is what I’m thinking of

whilst he’s strenuously trying to sell

an Internet connection by all means

he’s coming from a different country

but speaking a common language

prevaricating in front of me

thinking that I’m an idiot who trusts

ambiguous individuals

having fun at my expense

with no shame no doubt

later in a day

he’s opening his big mouth again

to be a ladies’ man

entertaining the whole town

and making my hair stand on end

but all I can do

is describe him from my point of view

until he’ll fall asleep

and start loudly dream

wheezing like an old-fashioned train

to hell with him!

*

3 April 2021

revised on 10 September 2022

***

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this poem, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Mescaline Brisset on my Vocal profile. The art of creation never ends.

social commentaryinspirationalperformance poetryvintage
3

About the Creator

Mescaline Brisset

if it doesn't come bursting out of you

in spite of everything,

don't do it.

unless it comes unasked out of your

heart and your mind and your mouth

and your gut,

don't do it.

so you want to be a writer? – Charles Bukowski

Find me on Medium

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Mescaline Brisset is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.