Poets logo

Old Familiar Pain

I feel.

By Jackie SagastumePublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
She is so broken!

Hello old familiar pain, I find myself driving down your painful lane again.

As my tears begin to form, pain you hit my gut like a thunderstorm.

As your lightning strikes me it takes my breath away I cannot breath.

As I struggle to catch my breath I am so near the end I shake hands with death.

Now I am face to face with the one thing that can make it all stop hurting because peace of mind is all I am yearning.

I am so broken down on the inside and I have so many scars on the outside that my pain is getting harder to hide.

Should I give in and let death take my pain away or do I fight to stay alive in hopes the pain will some day subside? Is it possible to one day live my life and thrive?

I am faced with two choices and in my head I hear two voices.

One voice tells me to give up, the other tells me not to give in.

I am so confused and I do not know which voice will win.

I feel so alone and this old familiar pain has become my home.

Hurt, lost and confused through these halls I roam so cold and alone.

I will not give in to death even though I long for this pain to go away. I will continue to fight until my happiness comes back one day.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jackie Sagastume

I am 35 years old and I have been writing poetry since I was in elementary school. I love to express myself through words and find that writing is a coping mechanism for me because my life is complicated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.