Poets logo

Oil Spills

The Mess We Made

By The Girl in GreyPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
Written 1/13/2019

Your absence is the loudest sound I’ve ever heard

Your nights fill the air with breakdowns and a struggling family

And I’m the combination of black feathers torn and white blood stirred

Trying to show you now all the things you couldn’t see in me

Coming upon the one year anniversary of her passing

The fleeting innocent girl that lived that time ago

Now I’m the center of all the spells the dark witch is casting

All because of those parts of you that can’t let me go

It wasn’t your place to tell me

It wasn’t our time to stay

You say you miss me, but ghosts are telling

There’s a reason you stay so far away

Say you love me, but keep me at a phones distance

Come near the center of the very core of my angel and demon

Nothing about you and I was ever heaven-sent

Now oil spills in our curse reflect the only rainbow I’ve been seein’

Love Always,

Chayle

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

The Girl in Grey

Our life stories are our grandest publications.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.