Poets logo

oh well, that's just how things are

free-verse just because

By ChloePublished 3 months ago 2 min read
1
oh well, that's just how things are
Photo by Qang Jaka on Unsplash

you lied to me?

i thought it was the truth...

i thought you were actually you...

but no, it turns out that you're not.

and you've left me to rot.

in the dust of your lies.

***

i am who i am,

i am my own age.

but for some reason

people curse at me in rage

because the others like me,

they do horrible things

spitting vapes and cutting teeth on rings.

cursing and swearing is just "oh so fun"

because of course those words are meant for everyone.

you think that it's cool,

that you talk like that

when really, we all know

you sound like a brat.

you hate other people for no particular reason

if they misgender you they've committed treason.

you lie and you cheat and you "get high"

because it's "fun"

(i say, "no, not i.")

you fail on your tests because you don't even try

you'd rather diagnose yourself

and go home and cry.

you joke about murders and all the shootings

not even realizing those people who do things

are the people that grew up like you're doing now,

cursing, spitting, vaping-- gee, wow.

it's no wonder the world is full of people like you,

no wonder the older ages criticize me for what i do.

it's no wonder they group me with the teens like yourself

who talk like they have the whole world on one shelf.

do you know everything?

have you been to a doctor?

must i call you "professor?"

cause you act like you've seen it all--

like you're my own proctor.

you can spit me in the face because of the color of my skin.

you can hate me because of my religion.

you can do all you want, but it's no surprise to me

if you end up trapped like a cat in a tree

because you did some horrid thing cuz the world told you so

and jtylk, i won't stick around for your show.

i'll be out the back door,

cuz that's just the way things are.

you hate and you snarl and you pounce on me online

i wonder how brave you are...

without the phone line?

***

this was (again) an inspired poem from ms. heather's "This is the new age"

people tend to group me in with the other teenagers my age who are doing absolutely horrid things to themselves and becoming addicted to their phones, swearing, cursing, and vaping.

i'm not one of those people.

Just because I type in lowercase letters does not mean that I am incompetent.

thank you. ciao

(jtylk means "just to let you know"... i thought it'd be nice to use some complicated text slang for the sake of the argumet.)

(please don't get me kicked off vocal.)

slam poetrysocial commentaryFree Verse
1

About the Creator

Chloe

she’s back.

a prodigious writer at 14, she has just completed a 100,000+ word book and is looking for publishers.

super opinionated.

writes free-verse about annoying people.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Toby Heward3 months ago

    Beautifully done

  • Chloe (Author)3 months ago

    yeah i know there's a typo oh well, it's the end of the world. ahhh.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.