Poets logo

Oh, Sweet Honey

The Ode to the Honey Jar

By Sheila L. ChingwaPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
3
Oh, Sweet Honey
Photo by Christina Branco on Unsplash

Small but so

Important to me.

You are the keeper of

the liquid gold that toys

with the flavors of dried leaves.

******

The vessel that sits

next to my cardinal cup

waiting to join my afternoon pleasures.

Chamomile tea steams and steeps as the honey pot waits.

******

Timer notes the time has passed.

Spoon "tink" against teacup sides.

a bump of the table the honey pot clinks begging to be used.

Excitement stirs as the lid is lifted and golden sweetness shines.

******

Twist of the honey stick

A swirl of golden honey began to dance inside its belly.

A swirl and lift begins the golden flow.

twisted up and placed over my cup.

******

Single swirl

Not enough to appease

the desire in me.

Another dunk into the honey pot, yes please.

******

Warm soothing chamomile

touch my lips

toy with my waiting taste buds

I smile at the pot, "You got it just right."

******

Cardinal cup

sat next to the Honey Pot

smiling watching her with love.

"Mistress is happy again." the cup said to the Honey Pot.

vintage
3

About the Creator

Sheila L. Chingwa

Welcome to my world.

Welcome to my thoughts.

I am proud to be a Native American Elder born and raised in Northern Michigan. Thanks to my hard work I have a B.A. in Education and a Masters in Administration and Supervision in Education.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran9 months ago

    Oh I loved the term liquid gold! Loved your ode!

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Awesome!!! Love the ode to the sweet honey pot!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.