Poets logo

Oh Brother

Why Me

By Charlene EllisonPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Thinking of all the things I could have been pursuing

Looking at the time as days go by

Trying to hold my head up high just wondering why

My family has turned their back on me once more

So, I sit in a jail cell staring at the floor

I know I was wrong can you give me one more chance

That we can look at this later with laughter and dance

Maya Angelou says I know how the caged bird sings

Yet I say how can you fly when they want to clip your wings

So, the day that you are set free

Just remember you are still a part of the family tree

We had to show you tough love from your destructive ways

When you finally leave think of this phrase

I am not a prisoner of my mind

Yet I can adapt to this world and not be left behind

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Charlene Ellison

I am a graduate student in general psychology. I love to express emotions through creative writing leaving individual's with a positive thought out of a bad situation!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.