Poets logo

Off-the-cuff

Lost in the 2000s

By Katarina PenfoldPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

 Off-the-cuff
Photo by Matthieu Huang on Unsplash

Tonight is the night to get dressed up to impress

What if I am overdressed?

As my mind spins is causes me to feel distress

But I end up still saying yes

Cant be shy have to make some progress

No need to be the one to obsess

The Struggle of being a social awkward turtle

Maybe everything will just be nonverbal

There is no need for rehearsal

But I feel as if I am so mortal

Stomach in a knot feeling as if my heart is going to explode like a rocket

Why cant I be the one to keep my heart in check in a clear locket

Cant this just me one of thought cheesy movie moments

But I don’t think I can keep in all together to play out the slowness

Turns out there was a missing link that i did not think of this component

Feeling like accidental, as if i tripped into enrollment

With no way to turn around and show some propriety

Here comes at an all time high my anxiety

Feeling as if i am going to need a bit of atonement

It happened in a blink and all of a sudden I am here in the moment

No matter how hard the itch in my mind says no .. out comes yes

From there the evening progresses

Feeling the red form in my checks

As if I aloud myself to let go to much into everything

It is already morning and now I am feeling the side effects

Wanting to get up and look to see what I have done

But then there is you still passed out beside me

So I lay back down beside you

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.