Poets logo

Off course

Again

By Katie Published 5 months ago 1 min read
1
Off course
Photo by George Liapis on Unsplash

It seems the older I become, the harder it becomes to change.

Were I a ship, I believe my rudder to be too small.

No matter how hard I push against the current, I gain little against it. Ultimately returning to a course not to my liking.

Perhaps my rudder is not as strong as it once was, my sails....tattered. No longer able to right my course with little effort. Now the waters are strewn with obstacles, easily taking me off course.

Even the weather can easily keep me from my destination. Too hot, too cold, too wet. These self inflicted parameters of mine are continually narrowing.

Still I try, setting course for destinations most likely unachievable.

I shall hope for fair weather and a following sea. Continuing to try, even failure can somehow be seen as a success. If I can, again, try.

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Katie

Really just an amateur trying my hand at this.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    Perseverance is all that matters. I loved this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.