Poets logo

Of The Simple Things

Contemplating Life from a Whiskey Glass

By stephen jonesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I sit here at my writing desk,

A cigar burning in the ashtray,

Whiskey half full in my glass,

And I cant help but stare at the mess I've made.

There's so much more to life,

Than hard work and civil strife,

Its the simple things we face each day,

The thought that's on my mind.

I stare at all the papers,

Some crumpled and torn,

All of the ideas thought but never born,

And I slowly understand the universe,

Like I never have before.

Its the simple things in life,

We all take them for granted,

Lovely little pleasures,

Brilliant ideas planted.

I sip from my too-warm whiskey,

A drag from my cigar,

I crumple up another half thought idea,

Another paper torn,

And remind myself life is just a simple idea,

Waiting to be born.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

stephen jones

Writing is my passion, poetry is my soul, The words on the page are my very heart.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.