Poets logo

Ode to Writers

For aspiring novelists

By Emma WilsonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Ode to Writers
Photo by Green Chameleon on Unsplash

I want to write a book

I write every day, practice my punctuation, try to expand my vocabulary regularly

I’ve written articles, essays, poems, even wrote and illustrated a children's book once

But

I want to write a book

I’ve collected 100s, read countless, and never forgotten a few

I started to write one, forgot all about it, lost interest

I’ve brainstormed a handful, dreamt up fantastic alternate realities

I’ve fallen in love with characters I only imagined

But

I want to write a better book

I need to think of a better story

I need to invent ingenious arcs

I want more than a simple heroes journey full of cliches and too perfect heroes

I want to write the book

But

I don't think anyone would read it if I did

I don’t know if the book has or ever will exist

I don’t think I am the most profound writer of all time

I don’t know if I can even finish more than ten pages

But

Sooner or later

I am going to write my book

how toinspirationalslam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Emma Wilson

Welcome to my creative outlet! I've always been a journaler, an overthinker, and quite recently I've become an environmental communicator. This is my space to release some emotions, share fond memories, and indudlge my creative thoughts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • A. Nguyen2 years ago

    I love this because I feel the same way where there are so many ideas that never get written but its okay because one day I'll make my book, if not for others then at least for me.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.