Poets logo

Ode To Ukraine

There Lies My Brother

By Zante CafePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Ode To Ukraine
Photo by Ivan Serediuk on Unsplash

Bodies lie strewn like trash

down the street on Freedom Row

Fodder for the rodents and the dogs

For these lifeless souls

Here lie my brothers,

Husbands, sons, and fathers

All were my friends

Now they lie upon the street

Lifeless souls at peace

Now sorely missed and soon forgotten.

Comrade, what crimes did they commit?

We asked not for none of this

A gun, a knife was thrust on us

Today we fight as soldiers;

in Anger and in Fear

You stole my life, my family, my hopes, my dreams

Will I see tomorrow’s sun?

Will I fade forelorn and forgotten

I fear the candle will burn for me,

by my wife, the grieving widow.

Hear the wails of childless mothers,

Their hopeful prayers to be anguished.

The tears will come; they never stop

The pain becomes numb with time.

But the wails will continue every night.

Sung by the Sisters of the Scythe

Picks and shovels scar my homeland,

Midwives standing by the graves

Take your children,

Sweet mother, Ukraine,

Take away our sisters’ tears

I bury my brothers, one by one

names not known….anon

Their broken dreams left unsung

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Zante Cafe

The Coffeehouse to the World

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.