Poets logo

Ode to Tinder date

Spoken word poetry

By Juliet SmithPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Ode to Tinder date
Photo by Pratik Gupta on Unsplash

Not this time. HA!

I'm left on read.

Why do these damn people have to mess with my head?

Stressing about things I've done and things I've said.

Why do I get no reply?! I thought we had a nice time,

It always ends this way.

This first date haze is screwing up my days, the chase, the waves, the energy caves, I suck, I'm lame, I'm shit at this game... ITS INSANE!

How can we be expected to meet a lover?

When we go online and abuse one another?

Our shallowness provokes a twisted perception,

of the people we see online, making collections,

of their best images, a blinded catfish.

Oh to find someone decent, I wish, I WISH!

Oh tinder date, oh tinder date, why have you fucked me?

My mental capacity is lost, its disgusting,

how much of my soul I put into something...

That leaves me confused, thinking...

...am I good enough then?

Despite the fact we had a good time,

And despite the fact neither of us were on time,

And despite the fact I think you're pretty sublime,

And DESPITE the fact I felt our souls align,

AND DESPITE THE FACT I FEEL SHIT EVERYTIME!

I'm left on read.

On my own I know I'll be just fine...

So go on, leave me on read..

Your message?

DECLINED.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Juliet Smith

I've always dreamt of being a writer, sharing my stories and experiences with others to help them. I write short stories, poetry and about my life. I hope you enjoy reading as much as I enjoy writing! Peace, love and rainbow hugs!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.