Poets logo

Ode to the Vitamin Dish

Submission for Ode to the Ordinary Competition, 2023

By Sarah MasseyPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
1
Photo by Sarah Massey

Every morning when I awake

I fill my dish with pills to take:

Iron, Zinc, B12, and Vitamin C

Are all the things I know will help me.

Pills, Capsules, and gummies too

To take all at once or stop and chew.

Upon the dish is a small phrase

On it every morning I gaze.

"Dream Big" it tells me now

Leaving me to wonder "How?"

Tired, anxious, depressed every day

Will my dreams ever come to stay?

The dish isn't big enough to hold all my dreams

But does contain the energy I need to scheme.

I take my vitamins one by one

Until in the dish there are none.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Sarah Massey

Sarah is an animator and short film director at the birthplace of Route 66 Springfield, Missouri. A graduate of Drury University in the class of 2020, Sarah is published two fiction short stories in Drury’s Literary Magazine, Currents.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    This was an amazing entry! 🥹

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.