Poets logo

Ode to the TV

Television

By Kristen UlrichPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
Like

One day when Lydia sat down in front of her TV,

It began talking,

“Today Lydia you ought to know,

Of my story, of my pain, misery, and woe!”

“First let’s turn back time 70 years,

To 1953,

I was the hottest attraction! I danced to only music made by me!”

“Now the computer, iPad, and cell phone give me a run for my money!”

“When you aren’t looking they say, ‘It’s my turn honey!’”

“You see I have the Internet too! Just turn on Netflix it’s true!”

“I will never forget the day when my face took a slap,

When I realized that they wanted iPad, something that they can hold in their lap!”

“Stop right there TV! I love you it’s true!”

“I am turning on the Netflix! There is room for you too!”

“Really!”, tears welled up in the TV’s eyes.

“I guess the other devices haven’t brought me to my demise.”

“No they haven’t TV. Please be the center of my eyes.”

Lydia watched Netflix shows all night, and the TV found a reason to smile again.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Kristen Ulrich

Please view my website:

http://www.bluerosesweb.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.