Poets logo

Ode to the Humble Spoon

Guardian of Delicate Bites

By Stevie JohnsonPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
4
Ode to the Humble Spoon
Photo by Anna Kumpan on Unsplash

In a world filled with shining cutlery,

Among forks and knives, you stand uniquely.

O humble spoon, with your gentle bend,

You cradle our meals, a trusted friend.

No sharp points to sting, no edges to slice,

Just a tender scoop, your method precise.

From soups to cereals, ice creams to brews,

For every bite, it’s you we choose.

In an infant’s grasp or a chef’s skilled hand,

You guide our meals from land to land.

In vast kitchens or by campfire’s glow,

Your silvery shine provides comfort we know.

A sentinel in coffee, a dance in the tea,

Stirring and mixing, setting flavors free.

O ordinary spoon, in your elegance you stand,

Serving us all with a gentle hand.

Without your embrace, our food might stray,

But in your hold, they’re guided our way.

O humble spoon, with dedication so true,

For every feast, we’re grateful to you.

surreal poetryfact or fictionexcerpts
4

About the Creator

Stevie Johnson

I write about things that I'm interested in. I'm Greek, I'm a Gamer, and I'm a Bitcoin enthusiast.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Ruth Stewart10 months ago

    I can see the warmth you feel to the humble spoon. I like how it can both cut and scoop, doing the job of a knife and a fork too. Great writing, I love it.

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    Great ode, Stevie! The spoon really is a vital element of the kitchen.

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    I loved this. I really felt the sense of comfort and friendship a spoon brings! :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.