Poets logo

Ode to the Governor

A Death Row Love Story

By Bruce Curle `Published 3 years ago 1 min read
8
Ode to the Governor
Photo by Mathew MacQuarrie on Unsplash

Ode to the Governor

I long for a woman I can't have,

She is a woman who dances in my dreams,

She is a woman I always think of,

She is a woman I want to

She is a woman I dream of making love to,

She is a woman I'd long to grow old with,

She is a woman I want to share my life,

She is a woman I'm forbidden to have,

She is the woman; I wish the State would free

She is the woman I cannot hide away with,

She is a woman that I must meet Between wire and steel

She is the woman I cannot sneak a kiss,

She is the woman listed by a coded number,

She is a woman; I pray the State will forgive,

She is a queen in the tower of our despair,

that knows how to love me,

Please oh please, Governor do let her go!

Authors Note - This poem was written in the late 1990s and sent to a Chaplin that fell in love with a Death Row Inmate.

surreal poetry
8

About the Creator

Bruce Curle `

A Fifty something male that enjoys writing short stories, scripts and poetry. I have had many different types of work over my lifetime and consider myself fairly open minded and able to speak on many topics.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.