Poets logo

Ode to My Toes and the Feet That Follow/Erasure

Feet that have carried me through life.

By Misty KatePublished 6 years ago 1 min read
1

As a way of centering myself

I wanted to drive by my old high school and

My old house.

A

Sucker for nostalgia,

I was surprised to see that

My old house was still exactly where

We’d left it, the only difference being that there was a stranger in

Front of it

I looked at the house and let

Myself drown in memories.

I didn’t know then that I would

Come to a realization that had been building.

I felt that at

Twenty years old, I still knew nothing and had experienced very

Little of what I considered real life.

Ink that you bare so proudly,

That mirrors the writing of my mother,

Of the Matthews verse she taught me.

“So, don’t worry about tomorrow

For tomorrow with have worries of its own.

Today’s trouble is enough for today.”

You will remind me,

To take it one step at a time.

From the past to the future,

My feet that carry me blindly.

From Cali and Iowa to Idaho and Tennessee.

We run through the fields and the sand.

We wiggle and giggle and tickle and chase

My dreams to my heart’s content.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Misty Kate

Stories and poems of figuring out who I am, motherhood at 20, anxiety/depression, and family and friends. I have three fathers, I'm engaged to high school sweetheart, with a wonderful son! This is my actual life and struggles I have faced.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.