Poets logo

Ode To My Office Job

A Poem

By Minna GPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Ode To My Office Job
Photo by Mathew MacQuarrie on Unsplash

You are the black hole devoid of any light,

The graveyard where dreams go to die

White-washed walls from here to there

Where gossips convene to gawk and stare

So mind-numbingly boring

So dreary every morning

A rope for my neck, a gun for my mouth

So this is what life is when it goes way down south.

Every day is grim, the same doldrum gray.

And the worst of the worst is I'm the only one to blame

I'm the one who damned myself to corporate slavery

These chains I fashioned on my own

Without a lock or key

One day I'll leave this place,

I'll be fancy and free.

But for now here I stay

All for the sake of money.

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Minna G

An eclectic witchy woman here to hone her craft as a desperate attempt to create some sense out of the maddening chaos that is her own mind.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Marisol Rivera2 years ago

    We are all slaves to someone or something & Prisoners to others who hold the key until one decides to break free. Love your writing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.