Poets logo

Ode to My Mojo

Hey Mojo!

By Didi MenendezPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
Mojo is also a marinating sauce made from naranja agria and other spices.

Hey Mojo!

Where’d you go?

I didn’t realize you were gone until

I noticed I had lost the spring in my step.

I was knocking myself against walls.

I was tripping over the dog.

I was petting myself.

I was alone in a room

with no music and only

an Edward Hopper

painting staring back at me.

I was an L.A. woman stuck in the Midwest.

I was a Cuban woman without angry oranges.

I was a poet watching my words escape me.

I was a painter without cerulean.

I was a photographer without Kodachrome.

Mojo you left me when I walked out the door

on my husband as my cocker spaniel barked

in the backyard carrying only my baby

and a diaper bag.

Hey police!

You have reached the Miami police department.

I left my husband. He was violent.

Where are you?

I walked ten blocks to the nearest grocery store.

I am waiting here and not sure what to do.

We are sending a car over.

Hey Mojo!

Where’d you go?

I want you in my pollo.

I want you in my tostones.

I want you in my frijoles.

I want to pour my mojo into a bottle

and take you wherever I go.

Hey Mojo!

You eat it.

You eat everything.

Hey Mojo!

You like it!

You really like it!

Life is a cereal Mojo.

Don’t you know?

It is packaged nicely in a rectangular box

with sometimes a surprise inside.

vintage
Like

About the Creator

Didi Menendez

I write about isolation.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.