Poets logo

Ode to my Dark Soul

A poem of the fullness of black

By Kim StambaughPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Light & Dark

Black is elusive and heavy

Something that speaks volumes without being seen

A rich warmth and harsh cold all in one

Hiding most imperfections is black

Getting lost in its entirety is crushing

Complete lightlessness

Completely void and full in a paradox

There is no halfway with blackness

Fully embodied with sensual desires

Fully exposed with truthful elegance

My soul really bleeds black

I am the one that comes and goes

I am the constant

I am the elusive

I am the giver and taker that no one sees

My soul reaches for passion

My soul envelopes elegance

My soul yearns for its paradox in and of itself

I hide all of who I am in black

But I give all of who I am from the black

Mysterious, yet familiar

Cold, yet wonderfully welcoming

Loner, yet socially adept

Ominous, yet benevolent

Scarily enveloping, yet protectively comforting

Souls are deep and dark and ruthless at times

Souls are shallow and light and warm at times

Black souls are more so than any other soul

Black souls are a color without the need for light

Black is the opposite of white and these two, yes these two colors are the purest of all

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Kim Stambaugh

The Frontier is how you challenge your boundaries. There is nothing simple, normal, or wrote in life. We each have a path, and it's unique. Struggles and passions alike, how you live your life dictates the legacy that you will leave.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.