Poets logo

Ode To Giving Thanks

by: Juan Davis

By Juan DavisPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by: @Fluidezillustrations

Thank you Autumn

For showing me how beautiful death can be your vibrant colors of red, orange, yellow and violet mean the most to me.

Your red leaves ground me like a sip of chai tea in the morning.

Your orange glow kisses my cheek like the setting sun.

I hear the crunch of your yellow leaves as I dance for joy

and violet to trust intuitively.

Death

Death, Death oh yes

Topic most favorable to I

Thank you death

For showing me this body is all mine

You see death is an illusion

Energy can never die

I learned to be careful with my words.

So now, I replaced death with rebirth

What is here today will fade away

Tomorrow crept in

Jump in ! Do not hide !

This feeling is great

What kind of story shall I tell today?

Thank you Illusion,

For always keeping me on my toes

I touch you for a split second and my essence crashes like a kaleidoscope.

Swaying to and fro,

In and out of time.

Do I exist? Or am I a figment of mankind?

Thank you Music

For without you I would not be alive

Another corpse in the ground circa 2009

You showed me its okay to bleed.

It's okay to cry until you’re blind,

cause everything will be alright

Everything will be just fine.

Your sweet melodies, soften my rough edges

as you rock me gently to sleep.

If you should ever ponder why I did not thank Jah

Ask yourself again...

What is Jah?

Some big man in the sky?

That’s too far away from me

I need you, so shall I just die?

Jah is the universe within you and I

Jah speaks to me through color, rhythm and blues

God is the stillness, you just gotta tune

In

Thank You.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Juan Davis

AfroQueer

They/He

Earthling

.

Digital Photographer & Mixed Media Artist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.