Poets logo

Ode to Fall Out Boy, Ending in Your Girlfriend’s Bed

A relationship over the years

By River StyxPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1

Cascade Park

Two 16 year olds

iPod and digital camera in hand.

A teenage vow in a parking lot

“Till tonight do us part”.

Barely taking our eyes off each other

As we slowly walked the hill

Till we found the perfect secluded spot.

The backgrounds and filters

Were doing us no favors

But we didn’t care.

We were drunk off the sky.

Wrapped in each other’s arms

‘Fireflies’ coming out of the iPod.

I thought I loved you

And it wasn’t just how you looked in the light.

I thought I loved you.

Moments from crawling into your bed

When you called it off for not crawling into your bed.

We detoxed just to retox

When we were 20.

I can’t remember

How

Or why

But I invited you to my bed.

Also,

Sorry that you had to witness such an awful proposal

And that he attempted to fight you at 4am.

The kick drum was beating in my chest again.

Long before your shows.

Long before your drum kit moved into our room.

Pull a breath like another cigarette

With every touch.

Top of Cadillac Mountain.

Drunk off the sky again.

Our breath- hot.

Our bodies- tangled.

Meteors filled the sky.

My body is an orphanage.

We take everybody in

Even when it shouldn’t be their time.

Even when it’s your best friend

Because you left me

Beached like a whale in my own tears.

27 rolls around and

Here I am.

Drunk off the sky again

As our bodies tangle in your girlfriend’s bed.

If you were a church

I’d get on my knees

But I’ve got too many memories getting in the way of me.

12 years later and

One look from you and I’m on that faded love.

I’m 16 again as fireflies dance.

I’m 20 again as the meteors fall.

I need a boost over Heaven’s gate

Into your arms.

You’ve always been

My one who got away.

I got too high again.

Realized I need you in my life.

Knowing that a relit cigarette doesn’t taste the same.

But, fuck

I need a drag.

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

River Styx

Queer, disabled, polyamorous, rural Mainer in their late 20’s. Their passion for writing began in 2002. River loves iced coffee, their cats, and the ocean.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.