Poets logo

Ode to Chocolate

A Poem Dedicated to My Favourite Childhood Dessert

By Michelle LiewPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
3
Ode to Chocolate
Photo by Pablo Merchán Montes on Unsplash

I realise that chocolate is everyone's go-to dessert and probably does not come up top in the unique desserts department. But it has been a dessert mainstay since I was a child. 

Chocolate, without all the trimmings, has a surprising slew of benefits that include heart health, enhanced brain function, improved skin health, and  of course, an improved mood. 

Need I say more? Enjoy these chocolate cinquains. 

Chocolate

Lovely richness

The heart glows with its warmth

Enhances its beat with fervour

Scrumptious

Chocolate 

Sweet, soulful

Mind sparkles with its charm

Prompts it with love and scrumptiousness

Thoughtful

Chocolate

Sinful, joyful

Mood shifts up with its strokes

Lifts it with kindness and passion

Sweetness.

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Michelle Liew

Hi, i am an English Language teacher cum freelance writer with a taste for pets, prose and poetry. When I'm not writing my heart out, I'm playing with my three dogs, Zorra, Cloudy and Snowball.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 months ago

    Mmmmmm, chocolate!!! Loved your poem!

  • ema3 months ago

    I love chocolate too 😍 good poem!

  • Gargie S Anand3 months ago

    Indeed, chocolates just make me happy.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.