Poets logo

Ode to Cancer

Eviction Notice

By Ben ShepherdPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Ode to Cancer
Photo by National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

Oh Cancer, you persistent foe

It’s time to say goodbye.

You’ve wreaked your havoc far too long

I will not watch her die.

My wife’s a fighter, this she’s proved

She simply will not stop.

This last attempt to take her life

Will also be a flop.

You do not believe me, do you?

You’ve always been stubborn.

Trust me, our new plan will succeed

As sure as I sunburn.

The truth is you’re not welcome here

You’ve never been a guest.

You’re really just a parasite,

A psycho killer pest.

It started several years ago

You ruined Christmas Day.

You’ve caused such problems ever since,

And just won’t go away.

Ironically our first attempt

To stop you in your tracks,

Was also on a holiday

Valentine’s to be exact.

We cut you from her pancreas;

A nasty surgery.

We thought that you were gone for good

But you’re too ornery.

You played possum for a while there

Thought we were in the clear.

Turns out you were only joking

And then said, “Hold my beer!”

Now, her liver you have wasted

But you will not succeed.

Chemo and radiation failed

But we have another lead.

We’ll simply cut you out again

My wife is on “the list.”

So once she gets her new liver

You’ll no longer exist.

Another surgery is dreaded

But worth it to end you.

My wife will face 100 scalpels

There’s nothing she won’t do.

She’s working out and losing weight

And getting into shape.

She’ll no longer be your victim

She’s planning her escape.

Now, Cancer, don’t be sad and glum

I’m not so sure you’ve lost.

My wife may be crowned the victor

But she’ll pay such a cost.

She’s already scarred and damaged

From surgery number one.

Favorite things don’t digest well

Now eating's not much fun.

And keep in mind a life that’s saved

Is not all-out restored.

The life-saving gift of transplant

Is a double-edged sword.

See, even once your gone, dear foe

We remain affected.

My wife will be on meds for life

And easily get infected.

While fear of “Cancer” may be gone

It’ll only be replaced.

With things like “flu”, “colds”, “germs”, “COVID”

Fear will never be erased.

Worst of all is something horrid

It makes me want to cry.

In order for my wife to live

Somebody else must die.

We’ll be happier without you,

Of that there is no doubt.

But there are many adjustments

Things we must figure out.

These changes have hit everyone

My kids will lose their pet.

Seems that birds aren’t good post-transplant

For health they pose a threat.

Don’t mistake me, I’m excited

Transplant’s a second chance.

My wife’s health, it will make better

Her life, it will enhance.

Since you appeared she's been worried

About what lies ahead.

Will she be around for grandkids

Or when her children wed?

Now she’s talking ‘bout the future

With glimmer in her eye.

Her words no longer have the air

Of one who’s meant to die.

There’s talk of going back to work

When she gets back her health.

She’s even mentioned growing old

Retirement and wealth.

Now Cancer, don’t think I’m your friend

For sharing this with you.

But I have concerns about my life

That make my feelings skew.

You’re used to grabbing people's lives

And making them a mess.

I figure maybe you’re the one

To understand my stress.

So when the transplant is complete

And when the healing’s done.

Will my life ever be normal?

Will I feel we’ve won?

And most important, my dear foe

I beg you, promise me!

Please don’t come back into her body

This is my earnest plea.

My wife’s a fighter this I’ve said

She’ll fight you tooth and nail.

But I fear if you return

My heart may simply fail.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Ben Shepherd

Eternal optimist and chocoholic. As the world becomes an ever-scarier place, I've found writing to be a more economical (and healthier) coping option than chocolate.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Marcus Ten Low2 years ago

    A good topic - a very sensitive one. I hope your writing acted as great therapy and that you get well soon!

Ben ShepherdWritten by Ben Shepherd

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.