Poets logo

Ode to a Father I Once Had

Alive but long gone

By Charlie SourirePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I long for something

I had long ago, I long for my father

He sometimes visits me in my dreams

And I am reminded why we no longer speak

I long for the days I had his love

Unconditional

Profound

The days I made him proud

Today I sit with all my failures

And I long for something

Security, sanctitious

Sometimes pernicious

And today, I sit with it again.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Charlie Sourire

Author and poet who specializes in imagery and vivid words.

My roots are reviving amidst the zephyrs and gales aboveground.

Appalachian Anthology coming soon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.