Poets logo

Odd Friends Make Great Company

Never letting others differences shy away the opportunity for friendship

By Toby HewardPublished 6 months ago 1 min read

I am but a blind girl without a friend,

Awaiting the embrace of winters cold end.

My life has been without much success,

Except to give my family unneeded stress.

I left for the woods to find my last peace,

Only to find a mountain made of soft fleece.

It didn't seem to have any evil intentions,

So I sat there in waiting for the next worlds dimensions.

What came as a surprise was a gentle husky voice,

Asking me this, "did you make the right choice"?

My reply was that I wanted peace for others,

For my parents, sisters, and itty-bitty brothers.

The mountain soon chuckled and gave me a nudge,

Saying "not all people are the same type of judge".

"I was not wanted for my crazy left eye,

but that is no reason for me to run out and die.

It is up to us to change things for the better,

So raise up your chin and show them your a getter."

With that little bit of advice I gained some insight,

And soon made my way back before the start of that night.

I still remember the words of that mountain of fleece,

And know that even if I struggle I can always find my little bit of peace.

Mental Healthsad poetryinspirationalFriendshipfact or fiction

About the Creator

Toby Heward

Creativity is boundless. We are gardeners that bring forth these fruits of wonder. Nature is my passion and I love to help readers see the stories with their own eyes through my works. Whether its poems, fact, or fiction I bring it to life.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Staringale5 months ago

    This is well-written and the imagery is beautifully crafted evoking a sense of isolation and yearning for understanding in the reader. The message of finding inner peace and strength shines through the verses. You have brilliantly incorporated the themes of self-acceptance, perseverance and the importance of changing one's perspective. Great work!

  • Beautifully written!

Toby HewardWritten by Toby Heward

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.