Poets logo

Oceans of Sand

Charting my Course

By Judey Kalchik Published 10 months ago 1 min read
23
https://pixabay.com/users/martyseb-13944777/

My boat was built to skim the waves

Skipping~~ rocking~~

~~ ~~plunging~~

~~ ~~ ~~ forward~~

~~~exploring the horizon~~

~~purposeful motion leading to nighttime peaceful-sleep.

~~ ~~ ~~ ~~ ~~ ~~ ~~

Just as I learned to sail the blue:

Salt spray slicking sun-kissed skin

{Wind whipped wanton wanderer!}

Tradewinds turned and-----LAND HO!

The deck ceased its rolling~rocking~rollicking~revels.

*********************

Now cradled, {not on tossing waves but}

Bits and tips of shell and stone beneath the hull

Perched and breached upon shifting grains of sand

sifting into and between, fore and aft, felt not seen.

Jettisoning sails, oars, rudders, anchors.

*********************

I, as Captain, make the choice

To rue the change or alter course.

Yearn no more for what brought me here and

Continue sailing these oceans of ground down history

Welcoming the feel of rebirth as salt is scoured from my face.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

This poem was written due to the excellent prompting of the #GrainsofSand Challenge by Cendrine Marrouat. Read about it and make your own entry into this unofficial challenge for Vocal creator writers.

I have an unofficial challenge of my own: #bookreviewhaiku !

Please let me know in the comments: Did you have a change in your journey? How did you react?

While you’re here, please do one or all of the following!

1. Click on the little heart to let me know that this clicked with you.

2. Click on the subscribe button and get a FREE notification when my next post goes live.

3. Feel free to share a link to anything I write on your social media.

4. A one-time tip or even a monthly recurring tip/pledge to support my writing is always appreciated if you are so moved!

You can also find me on Medium, AND you can find me on Threads!

performance poetrynature poetryart
23

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • David Ojukwu8 months ago

    Stop interrupting my stories. You are harassing me!!!

  • David Ojukwu8 months ago

    Stop interrupting my stories. You are harassing me!!!

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    Cool! I’ve yet to read about her challenge but enjoyed the structure of this piece! 😊👏

  • Ah, times they are a changing.

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    Really sensational, you make us feel each sensation. Rocking and swaying!

  • MANOJ K 10 months ago

    Nice words sis keep writing more

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    This is great. I was starting to get sea sick. Lol. Love how you put a positive spin on the ending. Well done.

  • Love the image and the journey you took us on

  • Colt Henderson10 months ago

    Loved it, like always.

  • Heather Hubler10 months ago

    I felt this! Your words made me feel like I was in a moving picture. Just fantastic, Judey :)

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Superbly written!!! Loved the journey!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    Mine is kind of similar to this one. "Wind whipped wanton wanderer" is delicious. I love your cover pic.

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    This was really great, Judey! I felt as though I was on an adventure with you!

  • Awesome 👍 ❤️💯😉📝👌

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    A great entry, Judey. I've had more than one change in my journey.

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    Yes, I loved the imagery and the ocean themes you used. All those words that are so lovely but hard to use, you did great!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.