Poets logo

Obese Beasts

Poem

By Kale Bova Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Obese Beasts
Photo by Aaron Clinard on Unsplash

Trolls are inherently rich!

Exclaimed the widow who’s apparently a witch.

Her husband, the late sorcerer, was once an

experienced torturer who would torture her.

One day she slashed his throat, yet no

witnesses dared to cry murderer!

His body was brought to a pair of

connected bridges, where our widow

patiently awaited her freedom and riches.

The obese beasts bared their teeth

and opened their stomachs.

The riddance of evil is a fortune we all must covet.

Begging the ancient ones for wisdom,

I found myself in a vulnerable position.

Exposing my need for desire, I became

unaware of the skeletons stoking my fire.

Feeling my flesh melt, I could sense

my demons reaching out.

I wished for rain and willed the weather to oblige.

Watering the flames making hot steam burn the sky.

There’s always a price, whether you can or can’t afford it.

The moral question always remains the same...

...is it truly worth it?

nature poetry

About the Creator

Kale Bova

Author | Poet | Dog Dad | Nerd

Find my published poetry, and short story books here!

https://amzn.to/3tVtqa6

https://amzn.to/49qItsD

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kale Bova Written by Kale Bova

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.