Poets logo

Oasis

Of the things that bring me comfort

By Lizzy GabrickPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like
Oasis
Photo by Gaelle Marcel on Unsplash

Of the things that bring me comfort, writing has been strong

But elusive, as many things are

Because setting words to paper (or print) tends to feel wrong

Yet everlastingly up to par

I love a piping cup of coffee and raspberry in the morning

A tasty bold red wine as a night cap

The precipice of something worth earning

And the luxury of a handicap

My lover's tender touch

The fleeting excitement when a favorite song begins

It might seem like a little much,

But its nearly like summiting mountains

The sense of excitement when opening a book for the first time

Or seeing a new niche of this great, big world

There truly is nothing like it, no melody, rhythm, or rhyme

Just like a dancer on her toes, freshly twirled.

excerpts
Like

About the Creator

Lizzy Gabrick

I spent many years reading and writing in my adolescence but have found inspiration has lapsed since I have become more settled into my adult life--a career and marriage. I look forward to changing that and sharing my creations with you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.