Poets logo

Numb

My Heart

By Vicious AvaricePublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Like

I can hear my heart beat

Slow and steady

Not unlike the tick of a clock

Predictable, mostly quiet

But persistent until the day it stops

I can see you

Basking in the exciting day

Running to your heart’s content

Smiling, radiating happiness

That persists until the nighttime falls

I can smell you

The sweet scent of flowers

Filling the world with love

Day in, and day out

All encompassing of the very air

I can taste your victories

Born of so many flavors

Quenching the hunger within

Sweet, savory.

Filling the masses to the brim

But I only feel my heart beat

Slow and steady

Not unlike the tick of a clock

Predictable, mostly quiet

Persistent until the day it stops

How is it fair

That I have the cognitive ability

To hear, see, smell, taste, feel

And comprehend

That the world has so much vibrance

But I am so very

Numb

art
Like

About the Creator

Vicious Avarice

The ramblings of a man obsessed with fate. Poetry, quotes, and inspiration. I am a published author who rides the beast of imagination. A storyteller. Check out my children’s book “The Christmas Monster” on Amazon or wherever books are sold

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.