Poets logo

now, you rest

ode to my grandmother | may 21, 1935 - march 29, 2022

By MELOPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

please tag me if you share <3 @meliorsini

••• ••• •••

i never knew your favorite song

or your favorite color

you weren't one to talk much

never about yourself

now it's too late to ask those things

but i feel i know the essential

like how strong you were

to carry such beauty

to endure so many cold winters

away from the caribbean warmth

i know how you were patience personified

how you had to be

thanks to you i learned

how to cook for myself

you guided me over the phone

step by step, more than once

and now i know how to make the best damn stewed beans

you always found a way to shorten the distance

no matter how much i tried

to prove myself i was fine on my own

but now that i know you’re physically gone

i feel physically ill

my chest feels heavy

my eyes have been begging me for sleep

for a whole week now

my head takes turns to ache one side at a time

and i miss you more than i ever imagined

i think of you the same way clouds suddenly fill the sky

and i am rain

i think of the last time i saw you before today

how you were speechless

so i became song

how you held my hand tightly

while i displayed my heart open to you

for the first time in so long

how your smile was weak but present

i’m grateful we lived that moment

the time to say goodbye is now

but you don’t feel like you

you don’t look like you

so it’s like, you’re just away

elsewhere

and we say goodbye to the body that carried you for 86 years

because that’s nature, i try to remind my heart

you transitioned to your next life

wherever you were needed

you now rest from this one

a well deserved rest

you gave us your everything

you lived

and now, you rest



“unable are the loved to die, for love is immortality”

— emily dickinson

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

MELO

i'm a human with a masters in creative writing, most fluent in poetry :)

born in 1993 at the caribbean, really a citizen of the world

listen to my band's music: NÖMADÄS in all streaming platforms <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.